❤ Extra Special Feature: Seven Valentines ❤

As a special extra post for Valentine’s Day, I decided to look beyond the costumes (since I do love film for its own sake too!), and send out seven valentines to non-romantic love stories in the movies… yes, that’s right! Because truly, there are so many beautiful cinematic love stories out there, and sometimes it’s nice to celebrate the ones that are basically unsung odes to all different kinds of love! 🙂

⤜❤↠ Valentine #1  ⤜❤↠

Mother & Daughter
Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

 ~ Merida & Elinor in Brave ~

⤜❤↠ Valentine #2  ⤜❤↠

Father & Daughter

Image

Image

Image

Image

~ Natty & Saul Gann in The Journey of Natty Gann ~

⤜❤↠ Valentine #3  ⤜❤↠

Friends

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

~ Frodo & Sam in Lord of the Rings ~

⤜❤↠ Valentine #4  ⤜❤↠

Mother & Son

Image

Image

Image

Image

 ~ Sarah & Nullah in Australia ~

⤜❤↠ Valentine #5  ⤜❤↠

Godfather & Godson

Image

Image

Image

Image

~ Harry & Sirius in Harry Potter ~

⤜❤↠ Valentine #6  ⤜❤↠

Sisters

fr8

fr10

fr5

fr2

fr11

fr7

Anna & Elsa in Frozen

⤜❤↠ Valentine #7  ⤜❤↠

Man & Horse

Image

Image

Image

Image

~ Frank Hopkins & Hidalgo in Hidalgo ~

Happy Valentine’s Day to you and all your loved ones!

2 thoughts on “❤ Extra Special Feature: Seven Valentines ❤

  1. Hi! I found your blog from your comment and likes on my blog. Thanks for following and offering your support, by the way! I really liked the idea of your post. It’s nice to see other relationships being celebrated as well. The Frodo/Sam part actually reminded me of one of my older posts that was about their friendship that I thought you might appreciate. If you’re interested in reading it, you can find it here: http://musingsofanerdygirl.wordpress.com/2014/01/17/for-the-love-of-friendship/. I’d love to hear your thoughts on it, if you have the time, but I don’t want you to feel obligated to comment if you don’t want to.

  2. Thanks so much for your comment, Umbreen! I really appreciate it. 🙂
    I read your post with great enjoyment, and have left a comment there.
    The relationship between Frodo and Sam is one of my favourites in literature or film, and I cannot watch the scene where Sam carries Frodo up the mountainside without tears streaming down my face.
    Here’s a wonderful quotation from Tolkien which I often think of, regarding his characterization of Sam:
    “My Sam Gamgee is indeed a reflexion of the English soldier, of the privates and batmen I knew in the 1914 war, and recognised as so far superior to myself.”
    Isn’t that beautiful?

Leave a Reply

